Shapes and colours discount stickers

I’ve recently been interested in discount stickers on supermarket products. Designing products and packaging for retail myself I had designed a call to action on the packaging design, without thinking I had done this in a star shape. After a discussion to evaluate the packaging we came to the conclusion that the star shapes made the packaging look cheap and de-valued the product.

The majority of discount stickers are red and white, yellow or blue. I noticed Sainsbury’s uses orange discount stickers on their products which immediately allowed me to recognise the product was from Sainsbury’s. It also stood out as a discounted item on the shelf; however it was interesting to see a brand use their main brand colour for their discounted stickers.

